Farm Puppies, Campfire, and Bigfoot country

Back in February when I raced at Questival, I was corrected by a guy who said to me, “We are all adults here so no, we don’t say “spring break” anymore.” Well, mr. adult feller, I still go to college and my friends are teachers so yeah, SPRING BREAK IS STILL MUCH CELEBRATED TO ME AND MANY OTHERS.

When I was growing up, spring break was a time for family vacations. But now that my siblings and I all have schedules of our own now, I used this break to plan a girls camping trip with my two teacher friends (btw, they’re super hot and single and I’ll forward your dating application from here if you’d like to take one of them out.)

As I tell you our spring break shenanigans, I will also be sharing tips to help you make the best of your camping experience if you are planning one in the future (in other words, learn from our mistakes here.)

We set out on Tuesday morning to grab last minute items from good ole’ Walmart, which ended up being about five tons of random stuff. Tip #1: Pack lightly. Don’t try to stuff your duffel bag of a month’s worth of underwear and don’t bring bags of food that you will honestly never cook over the campfire. Keep your camping experience low maintenance.

My teacher friend #1 picked me up and off we went to pick up my teacher friend #2 at her gorgeous family farm where we were chased around by farm puppies that belonged to the neighbors next door.

Just pause here for a sec. Have you ever been surrounded by a farm of puppies? All I can say about it is that I could have gone to Heaven right then and there being suffocated in love by these farm puppies. (P.S. Idk why my eyes are closed but I was just enjoying the moment.)

 

JPZX9963

 

After our dose of puppy love for the day, we set off to Broken Bow, OK. Tip #2: Plan your reservation in advance. Our original plan was Colorado Bend which, albeit its geographical name, is a beautiful state park located in TX. We were too late in making a camp site reservation and had to deter from our original plan. After two weeks of calling and researching more state parks, Broken Bow offered a first come, first serve policy for their three different camp grounds that you can choose from. My friends and I chose Hochatown State Park, which neighbors Broken Bow and borders the lake as well.

After a three and a half hour drive to our destination, we were greeted by many statues of Bigfoot as we made our way to a primitive camp site. Our area offered a flat place to set up our tent, a beautiful view of nature all around, walking distance to the lake, and lots of trees for hammock naps. It was everything you want in a camp site! Some perks included an already-made fire ring, a picnic bench, and privacy. What else could a camp site hidden in nature even need?

Processed with VSCO with q3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c7 presetProcessed with VSCO with a2 preset

As soon as the sun set, we realized just what we were getting into for the night. Tip #3: Prepare for the weather. My friends and I completely underestimated what the lows of thirty degrees would feel like sleeping right next to a body of water. If it wasn’t for the alcohol numbing our bodies to the cold, I’m sure we would have succumbed to hypothermia of some sort (thank you Deep Eddy’s).

And after some much-need talk therapy around our camp fire and doing our naked fire dance (kidding), we slumbered and shivered all night in our tent. Tip #4: If you’re going to sleep by a body of water because you think it’s pretty, sleep by it when it’s warm. If the sun is struggling to warm the day up past forty degrees, save yourself from misery and rent a cabin.

The next morning, we got our day started early. We started our fire to attempt to cook an Instagram-worthy campfire breakfast. Tip #5: Meal prep easy foods. I barely touched any of the food that I brought and it all ended up being a waste of money and truck space. Because it was so windy, our little fire was struggling to ignite and warm us up. We ended up going to a restaurant and camped out there to warm ourselves and eat hot food so we could somewhat come back to life.

We got back to our camp around noon in an effort to be active in nature. We attempted hiking. By then, the sun had warmed the camp ground up to a high of fifty-four degrees but it felt wonderful! We hiked around the bend of the lake where we played with sea shells, crystalized rocks, and river slate rock. The beauty of it all was absolutely worth the misery of the wind chill.

 

 

When we returned to our camp, we huddled for a team meeting where it took us less than two minutes to agree that we should go home before we risk death again in the freezing cold temperatures. And it took no more than twelve minutes to pack everything back up in the truck.

Our ride home was nonetheless entertaining as we girl talked and listened to teacher friend #1 lip sing to Lenny Kravitz and Jim Corce. When we reached back to the great city of Ft. Worth, we were met with sunny temperatures of the sixties and I was never so thankful before for Texas weather.

Though our camping trip was short lived and the weather made it challenging and we never got to see bigfoot, there was never a dull moment with my friends and they made my spring break memorable. Camping is all about what you make out of it with the people you go with. It’s good to take a break once in a while and relish in a healthy dose of nature. Camping is a versatile hobby where you can make your experience as modern or primitive as you prefer, just as long as you get a good detox in from the busy day-to-day life.

And camp fires and great friends make the best stories to tell that are too R-rated for public forums (kidding, we’re not THAT bad) but these girls make me happy to be a wild one.

XRFR2019

Camp away, friend! I promise I’ll do a more serious camping tips and tricks post soon for a more informational purpose.
Bye for now!

-MK

Leave a Reply

